Skip to content
Dartmoor Forest Parish Council Logo
Postbridge in the parish of Dartmoor Forest

Dartmoor Forest Parish Council

Dartmoor Forest is a civil parish in Devon, England. It was formed in 1987 by the splitting of the former parish of Lydford. It covers about 56,000 acres (230 km2) entirely within Dartmoor National Park, and is the largest parish in Devon. Due to its large size it is surrounded by many other parishes: these are, clockwise from the north, Belstone, South Tawton, Throwleigh, Gidleigh, Chagford, North Bovey, Manaton, Widecombe in the Moor, Holne, West Buckfastleigh, Dean Prior, South Brent, Ugborough, Harford, Cornwood, Shaugh Prior, Sheepstor, Walkhampton, Whitchurch, Peter Tavy, Lydford, land common to the parishes of Bridestowe and Sourton, and Okehampton Hamlets.

The principal settlements in the parish are Princetown, Hexworthy and Postbridge.

The name 'Dartmoor Forest' relates to the one time ancient royal hunting ground as explained in Tim Sandle's excellent article in his website Legendary Dartmoor.

As a brief summary, Dartmoor Forest Parish Council is responsible for the following:

  • Princetown play area
  • Postbridge cemetery
  • Grass cutting of some areas across the parish
  • Defibrillators in Postbridge and Hexworthy

and is consulted on all planning applications by Dartmoor National Park Authority.

If you have any questions please contact the Parish Clerk who will be more than happy to assist.

Find us on Facebook