Skip to content
Dartmoor Forest Parish Council

His Royal Highness The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh

It is with great sadness that the nation mourns the death of His Royal Highness, The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh.

On behalf of the people of the Parish of Dartmoor Forest, I wish to convey that sadness and send our condolences to Her Majesty The Queen and the Royal Family.

I am unsure if, in his long and distinguished service of the country, the Prince ever visited Dartmoor Forest. However, the Prince’s deep connections with Devon are recalled with pride by the Lord-Lieutenant of Devon who reminds us that it was in Devon, as a young naval officer, that Prince Philip met and later married Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. Also, in his public duties as Lord High Steward of Plymouth and Captain General of the Royal Marines, the Prince was an active supporter of places and organisations close to us here on Dartmoor. His Royal Highness’ Award Scheme has also encouraged many young adults to explore, instil respect for and grow to love wild places such as Dartmoor.

Due to COVID-19 it is not appropriate for the parish council to organise a physical book of condolences, however Buckingham Palace have made arrangements for an online book to be opened, which can be accessed here:

We will be holding a minute’s silence, as a small gesture of respect, at the next meeting of the parish council at 19.30 on 27th April. As always members of the public are very welcome to join the meeting.

Cllr. Alison Geen, Chair of Dartmoor Forest Parish Council

    Welcome to the official website for Dartmoor Forest Parish Council

    Dartmoor Forest is a civil parish in Devon, England. It was formed in 1987 by the splitting of the former parish of Lydford. It covers about 56,000 acres (230 km2) entirely within Dartmoor National Park, and is the largest parish in Devon. Due to its large size it is surrounded by many other parishes: these are, clockwise from the north, Belstone, South Tawton, Throwleigh, Gidleigh, Chagford, North Bovey, Manaton, Widecombe in the Moor, Holne, West Buckfastleigh, Dean Prior, South Brent, Ugborough, Harford, Cornwood, Shaugh Prior, Sheepstor, Walkhampton, Whitchurch, Peter Tavy, Lydford, land common to the parishes of Bridestowe and Sourton, and Okehampton Hamlets.

    The principal settlements in the parish are Princetown, Hexworthy and Postbridge.

    The name 'Dartmoor Forest' relates to the one time ancient royal hunting ground as explained in Tim Sandle's excellent article in his website Legendary Dartmoor.

    As a brief summary, Dartmoor Forest Parish Council is responsible for the following:

    • Princetown play area
    • Postbridge cemetery
    • Grass cutting of some areas across the parish
    • Defibrillators in Postbridge and Hexworthy

    and is consulted on all planning applications by Dartmoor National Park Authority.

    If you have any questions please contact the Parish Clerk who will be more than happy to assist.

    Image 01 Image 02 Image 03 Image 04 Image 05